Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Sublette USD 374


Ajax Loading Image


Attention Teens: Change in Seat Belt Law

Effective January 1, 2008, violations will carry $60 fine.

Effective July 1, 2007, Kansas' safety belt use law (K.S.A. 8-2503) was changed to require all drivers and passengers ages 14 through 17 to buckle up at all times regardless of where seated in a vehicle in motion. From July 1 through December 31, 2007 law enforcement officers only issued warnings for violations.

Effective January 1, 2008, officers may write citations for these violations. The law also provides for primary enforcement, which means a driver may be pulled over and each violator cited solely for the seatbelt violation. The fine is $60, including court costs.

The Kansas Highway Patrol has done selective enforcement's in the area with an emphasis on child passenger safety.

I want to help make all the students and parents aware of this law change in an effort to keep our kids at USD 374 safe while driving or riding in a vehicle.